Mediterranean Omelette

Omelettes are one of my all-time favourite things to cook for lunch – they are quick, healthy, and you can just throw in whatever you can find in your fridge! It is also a very cheap meal, which makes it perfect if you’re trying to save money. You can add and take away ingredients to suit your tastes, and can easily double the mixture to make enough for a friend too. Eggs are virtually fat-free but are also very filling, so this should keep you going until dinnertime.

image

I’ve recently bought a basil plant and I have been loving it! I picked it up from my local supermarket and it was so cheap and looks so nice on my windowsill. Plus it provides me with a constant supply of fresh basil leaves which are the perfect way to liven up any Italian-style dish. I love adding basil to my omelette because it adds a meditteranean twist and makes me think of summertime! Let me know if you try out this recipe, and I’d love to know what you would add to an omlette to brighten it up.

image

Ingredients:

  • Drizzle of olive oil
  • 2 eggs
  • Handful of grated cheddar cheese
  • Handful of cherry/plum tomatoes, quartered
  • Sprinkle of dried oregano
  • A few sprigs of fresh basil, chopped
  • Salt and pepper to season

Method

  1. Pour the sunflower oil into a  frying pan and heat on a medium heat. Beat the eggs in a bowl.
  2. Pour the beaten eggs into the pan and swirl so that the bottom of the pan is covered by them. Scatter over the tomatoes, cheese and oregano.
  3. Leave to cook until it has set all over – this should take about 5 minutes. Loosen from the pan using a fish slice every now and again so that it doesn’t stick.
  4. Sprinkle over the basil and season with salt and pepper. Slide onto a plate and enjoy!
Leave a Reply

